ABOUT

Cross Timbers Urban Forestry Council is a GuideStar Registered 501(c)3. The mission of the Cross Timbers Urban Forestry Council is to “Promote programs in the region to increase interest in Urban & Community Forestry”

Our logo is a strong young post oak sprouting from an acorn surrounded and nurtured by the Cross Timbers Urban Forestry Council. It represents the great things that can grow from humble beginnings when given the proper support.

Our goals include

  • Promote a sustainable urban forest in our region
  • Provide educational opportunities for local arborists, Citizen Foresters and the public
  • Support municipal forestry programs

Board of Directors are elected at the annual meeting each year in September.

Big Tree Tour

History

Cross Timbers Urban Forestry Council filed Articles of Incorporation as Re-Leaf Tarrant County on May 23, 1990. In July of 1998 the nonprofit group was renamed Re-Leaf Urban Forestry Council and represented the 17 county region as outlined by the Texas Forest Service as one of many regions across the state. Many of the original Urban Forestry Councils across the nation were established through State Forestry Agencies as a Federal initiative to promote urban forestry programs. In September of 2003 the Council changed its name to Cross Timbers Urban Forestry Council to better represent the ecosystem prevalent to the region. Cross Timbers has continued as an important grass roots nonprofit organization supporting community forestry programs in the Cross Timbers region.

Executive Committee

Officers

President
Gene Gehring
Urban Renewal, Inc
ggehring@mailcity.com

Vice President
Wendy Pappas
City of Arlington
Wendy.Pappas@arlingtontx.gov

Past President
Laura Miller
Texas A&M AgriLife Extension
lmmiller@ag.tamu.edu

Secretary
Gareth Harrier
Bartlett Tree Experts
gharrier@bartlett.com

Treasurer
Melinda Adams
City of Fort Worth
Melinda.Adams@fortworthtexas.gov

Editor
Jeremy Priest
City of Arlington
Jeremy.Priest@arlingtontx.gov

Board of Directors

Steve Driskill
Arbor Masters Tree Service
sdriskill@arbormasters.com

Wes Culwell
wes.culwell@yahoo.com

Keith Martin
City of Southlake
kmartin@ci.southlake.tx.us

Rachel McGregor
Texas A&M Forest Service
rmcgregor@tfs.tamu.edu

Susan Henson
City of Grand Prairie
shenson@gptx.org

David Coke
Citizen Forester
david.l.coke@gmail.com

Non-Voting
Courtney Blevins
Texas A&M Forest Service
cblevins@tfs.tamu.edu

Citizen Forester Liaison
Bill Sargeant
billsarg@flash.net